PNG is the largest country and largest economy in the Pacific Islands region with an Exclusive Economic Zone of 3,120,000 square kilometres. It shares the land border with Indonesia's Papua province to the west and with Australia in the Torres Strait and Coral Sea to the south. PNG shares a maritime border with Solomon Islands to the southeast and the Federated States of Micronesia to the southwest.

It is an active member of the United Nations and its Agencies, Commonwealth and Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC), International Commodity Organizations, International regimes, Africa Caribbean Pacific (ACP), Pacific Island Forum and is an observer in the ASEAN.

Copyright © 2021 Papua New Guinea High Commission to Malaysia. All Rights Reserved.